Return to CUTPL Home Page
The Culver-Union Township Public Library makes no representation regarding the accuracy of the information contained within these pages.
A Timeline of Culver History
A year-by-year review of the highlights of Culver area happenings in ages past.
Thanks to Linda Johnston of the library for her hard work in researching this information.
1903 In Review
May 14 – Notice is published in this issue of an election to be held May 26th to authorize the School Board to issue and sell bonds for the erection of a new school building.
A fire started on Long Point at the Meyer cottage last Sunday. It burned the pier which was up on the bank for the winter and destroyed a number of shade trees. The loss was 25 dollars…
May 21 – The stone forming the edge of the walks at the depot grounds is being removed by Foreman Washburn and men. Cut sod borders will be used this season. The rock that is removed will be used to build a sea wall down near the ice houses…
H. F. Kidder and Robt. B. Stewart, government marine boiler inspectors, were here last Friday. They inspected all marine boilers on passenger boats on Lake Maxinkuckee and Bass Lake Friday and carried away about $100 for their pay. Talk about snaps – that’s the biggest yet…
June 4 – Strawberries 15 cents a quart. Rather an expensive luxury…
Menser’s Building on the corner is nearing completion. It is attractive and will add materially to the value of the property as well as improve the general appearance of Main Street…
June 18 – John Hussey has completed the cold storage house to be used for keeping Schlosser’s ice cream…
The ice company has just completed a new 34’ X 34’ barn and large shed on the ice house grounds…
June 25 – We now have a telephone installed in the Citizen office…
July 2 – The Nickel Plate will build a new freight house at Knox in the near future…
July 9 – Harry Lamson has opened the North Side Pavillion and handles everything in the confections and tobacco line. He installed a large soda fountain last week and will have a boy go around the lake every day to take orders for and deliver candies, etc…
Last Thursday’s heavy storm blew the smoke stack down at Bill York’s saw mill at Burr Oak…
The heavy storm last Thursday did considerable damage to the streets and walks in town, and it has kept Marshall Burkett and a gang of men repairing the same…
July 20 – Thos. Medbourn had a large new sign put up so it can be plainly seen from the depot grounds. It advertises his ice cream parlor and it answers the purpose it was intended for admirably…
Where are our fish commissioners? A Party from Chicago was seen going around the lake last Thursday with a Saine…
August 13 – Last Wednesday several people rode through town in a reckless manner horseback…
Seven drunks while out boat riding last Sunday upset their boat about a half mile out from the boat house. They were rescued. A peculiar feature of the affair is they were as drunk after the experience as before…
August 27 – The prospects of a new school building are looking brighter every day…
September 3 – The floor in the tin type gallery gave away Sunday afternoon while a large crowd was waiting to have their “faces took.” It was repaired in a few hours and the work of fixing faces with fierce features, freckles or frowns went merrily on…
September 10 – While the men were at work on the main barracks at the C. M. A. last week a square of roof fell. One man was injured, having three ribs broken…
September 17 – Lightning struck the Vandalia pump station last Monday. It burned out the wires at six different places, burst out the windows and tore the doors off the hinges. It also moved a partition about four inches back and scorched the room on all sides. The large gasoline engine was not injured…
The north bound passenger train was five hours late last Friday noon, occasioned by a wreck on the line near Rockville, and as about 60 Culver people were at the depot waiting to go to Plymouth to the Carnival, the Van officials allowed them to ride up on the local freight…
October 22 – The boys of Culver have organized a new foot ball team and have secured the services of Dr. Parker as coach…
October 29 – A number of men are laying the new brick cross walks and all will be in place this fall…
December 17 – The thermometer stood at 13 below zero Sunday morning, the coldest it has been in 33 years on a December day…
The Andrea’s saw mill office was moved to Hibbard on runners, the present heavy snow making it a fairly easy proposition…
1909 In Review
January 7 – A “Measles” card was placed on Charley Mikesel’s house by Health Officer Easterday last Saturday…
Dogs killed $85 worth of sheep for H. C. Rinhold and $10 for F. Hoestl a few nights ago near Monterey…
January 14 – The mumps is beginning to make itself felt and seen among the school children…
Wilford Medbourn claims to have seen a wolf on the marsh northwest of town the other day…
January 21 – The explosion of a lamp in Miss Pearl Osborn’s room on the second floor of the Osborn hotel at 6:30 Tuesday evening gave the occupants of the house a scare and about twenty minutes of hard work to save the building from destruction…
January 28 – Ice cutting came to a sudden termination last Friday. The heavy rain of the night before and the spring temperature were too much for Jack Frost…
Plymouth has started a movement to establish a public library…
February 18 – A bill was introduced in the legislature to increase the salaries of the county school superintendents. Under the new schedule Marshall county is raised from $1,404 to $1,650.
February 25 – Eight or ten additional hydrants have been installed on the depot grounds for sprinkling…
March 11 – Howard is putting up a building for an ice cream factory on the rear of the residence lot…
A man named Butler from Starke county has rented the room recently vacated by Gast and will conduct a shoe repair shop and refreshment parlor…
April 1 – L. W. Keech of Kewanna has rented the second story of the bakery building and will remove his cigar factory to Culver…
April 22 – The old boat house in the hollow east of the Lake View was taken down last week, loaded upon a car and shipped out of town…
May 6 – The heavy wind, amounting to a tornado in many sections of Indiana, struck Culver between 7 and 8 o’clock Thursday evening. It came suddenly and with a roar like a freight train. The down town district was full of people who hurried to shelter. The blow was not hard enough to do any serious damage here or about the lake. The nearest point of destruction of property was Walnut, on the Lake Erie road, 10 miles southeast of Culver. There a store front was blown in, the elevator unroofed, and several buggies tipped over…
May 13 – John Osborn last week added to the livery facilities of the Osborn hotel a new two-cylinder 22-horse power Reo automobile. It is a handsome car…
May 20 - H. H. Austin opened his skating rink last week and the place is enjoying a good patronage…
June 3 – The Culver Cash Hardware Co. has added a National cash register to its equipment. It will do everything about the business except collect the bills and pay the rent…
June 17 – H. H. Austin is starting a branch skating rink at Ora. The rink in Culver will run three nights in the week and the one at Ora the other three nights....
July 22 – At its Monday night meeting the council adopted and placed on record the resolution and ordinance for changing the direction of the South end of Main Street…
September 2 – Dan Wolfe went out of his bakery for a few minutes last Friday, leaving his pocketbook containing $51 in bills and some checks on a table. When he returned the pocketbook had disappeared but was found later in a water closet, minus the cash…
A whopping big watermelon was Rev. Wm. Feece’s present to the Citizen this week. It weighed 38 pounds and measured 55 inches around…
September 16 – Saine & Son will sell their horses and wagon and run an auto delivery next season…
September 30 – The town had a genuine fire scare Monday evening about 8 o’clock when Charley Mikesel, the clerk in the Culver Cash Hardware Co.’s store, discovered smoke in the basement of the store. Charley ran down to the furnace where he found a mass of rope blazing on top of the cold air duct…
October 14 – Saine’s delivery team ran away the other evening on the road home from Yellow river. At the Nickel Plate crossing a dog ran at the horses, causing them to jump and break something. The horses ran into the ditch where the occupants plunged into a wire fence. Here one of the horses stuck, while the other ran a couple of miles to Souder’s farm where it was caught…
October 21 – The Vandalia engine lost one of its castors or something Saturday evening on leaving South Bend and the train did not reach Culver until 7:30…
November 11 – That relic of prehistoric times, the wooden sidewalk along the north side of the Methodist church, was yanked out Monday and a cement walk is taking its place…
1914 In Review
January 1 – Lester Rockhill has sold his laundry agency to Jesse Rhoads and Raymond Mikesell. Mikesell will leave Hand’s and Ray Warner is slated for his place…
January 8 – The Kaley school, southwest of town, is having an enforced vacation this week. Miss Snapp, the teacher, worn out by the continued harassment of two or three bad boys, threw up her job Saturday…
January 15 – Kewanna is to receive $8,000 from Andrew Carnegie for a public library building…
Culver housekeepers were last year at this time paying 20 cents for eggs…
January 22 – It is reported that the poles for the electric light line are set for a distance of about three miles this side of Plymouth…
Plymouth’s beautiful public library building was dedicated last week with an elaborate ceremony. The building and site cost nearly $22,000. There are 3,000 volumes on the shelves…
February 12 – The Nickel Plate station at Rutland has been discontinued. Not enough business…
February 26 – Workmen are setting poles in town for electric lights…
The East Washington Methodist Protestant church, located southeast of Maxinkuckee burned to the ground Sunday night between 9 and 10 o’clock…
March 26 – The fire escapes have been put in place on the school house…
April 2 – The first step has been taken toward securing a Carnegie library building in Culver…
W. S. Easterday contributed the first volume to the new public library and his name will be No. 1 on the Roll of Honor. The title of the volume is “ Museum of Antiquities”….
April 9 – Harry Poor has bought the Parr barber shop…
April 16 – The new 125-foot town pier is being built…
April 23 – The public drinking fountain donated to the town by the C. C. club was put into commission last week…
May 28 – Steps are being taken to secure free mail delivery to Culver…
Culver made the little bow and was introduced into larger company last Thursday evening at 7:40 when the electric current from the Plymouth Electric Light and Power Company’s plant was flashed along the intervening 12 miles of wire and blazed forth on every street corner in town…
June 18 – The town board is working on a plan for numbering the houses in anticipation of free mail delivery…
Melville Morehouse, 13 years of age was taken in an automobile Tuesday, accompanied by his parents and a trained nurse, to a hospital in Lafayette. He has a severe case of typhoid fever…
June 25 – Contractor Bontrager of Elkhart broke ground Tuesday for the $6,000 school house at Burr Oak…
August 13 – Tim Wolfe has his billiard and pool hall in the new Edwards at Depot Place in full tune…
Definite progress is being made on the Public library. The town board held a special meeting on Tuesday night and extended a special library tax of 1 mill on the $100 which will raise about $350….
September 10 – About 50 electric irons have been bought by the housekeepers of Culver…
Rector’s is the first store to hang out a big electric lamp over the front door…
September 17 – There are two cases of scarlet fever in Burr Oak, and a death in Ober from diphtheria. The opening of the Burr Oak School has been temporarily postponed…
October 1 – The Vandalia depot has just been completely wired for electric lights. A number of small lights have been distributed throughout the building and one of the large 100-watt lights has been placed under each shed beside the depot…
October 15 – At a second meeting of the township advisory board, held Tuesday evening, a levy of five-tenths of a mill on the $1 assessed valuation of the township was ordered for public library purposes. As the assessed valuation is over $1,400,000 this will produce a little more than $700, which, in addition to the mill levy by the town board, will create a library fund of about $1,100. This will justify the library board in asking the Carnegie Corporation for a donation of at least $10,000 for building purposes…
Surveyors Schoonover and Butler have filed their report of acceptance of road No. 11 in Union township, which is the brick paving through Culver…
October 22 – The work on the Maxinkuckee Methodist Protestant church was finished at a cost in cash and labor of $1,610. It was dedicated on Sunday…
November 12 – As a result of the spread of the hoof and mouth disease, pigeons, sparrows, cats, dogs and rats are being slaughtered everywhere, as they are carriers of the disease…
November 26 – On account of two cases of scarlet fever in a family on the Yellow River the Hibbard school is closed this week…
December 3 – The Carnegie library building, if it is built, will be located on the Main street lot south of the M. E. church…
December 10 – The Palmer House has put a five-passenger limousine car into the bus service of the hotel…
December 31 – The 1,500 books of the public library were transferred to the rooms over the hardware store last Monday. It is expected that by Jan. 1 the new rooms will be open.
The town has this week set up a long line of galvanized iron hitching rails along the north side of the M. E. church and the south side of the Listenberger pool room…
January 12 – F.G. Solomen disposes of dry goods store.
Art Silbert, Culver bank robber, applies for pardon.
Russell C. West found dead at the Emma J. Werner home.
January 19 – Mrs. Emma J. Werner commits suicide following discovery that she killed Russell West and probably several others.
Culver gripped in worst storm since 1918.
January 26 – Forrest Geiselman purchases Hatten grocery.
February 9 – Paving of Behmer road through Burr Oak to Culver is discussed before county commissioners but no decision reached.
236 attend county young peoples conference at Culver.
February 16 – County commissioners order Behmer road to be paved in 1927.
Partnership of Earl and Jerome Zechiel is dissolved.
March 9 – Union township led in sale of tuberculosis Christmas seals.
March 16 – Mr. and Mrs. Neal Lichtenberger purchase Mack restaurant.
W.S. Easterday enlarges building.
J.J. Barns becomes proprietor of the Culver Hotel.
March 23 – Work commenced on new Hayes building.
Major C.F. McKinney new head of station WCMA.
March 30 – Commence work on Behmer road.
Joe Schweidler purchases Lake Shore garage.
April 13 – Plans discussed for school playground.
Five stores at Monterey robbed.
April 27 – Churches, theaters, and schools closed by measle epidemic.
May 11 – Measle quarantine ended with total cases reaching 148.
High wind does $1000 damage to Academy boats.
Work being done on playground.
June 1 – Paving on Burr Oak road finished from school house to Behmer road.
June 8 – Culver hit by small cyclone and cloudburst.
June 29 – Academy purchases 180 acres along State Road 10.
July 6 - $350, 000 expansion program announced by Culver Military Academy.
July 13 – Palmer Shilling shot by crazed farm hand.
August 3 – State starts action to secure right-of way for re-routing of State Road 10.
Sub-station of Northern Indiana Public Service Company is finished at Behmer corner.
August 17 – Midshipman rescued from lake.
August 31 – Car and garage burn when three local boys commit arson.
September 14 – Case of infantile paralysis reported.
September 21 – Heat wave so intense that schools are dismissed.
Culver Dry Goods moves entire stock out of town.
October 5 – Hard surfacing of Burr Oak-Culver road finished.
Bids opened for paving re-routing of State Road 10.
October 12 – Diptheria cases at Burr Oak school closed.
November 2 – Property owners agree to pave part of East Side road.
Academy offers life insurance, disability and annuity benefit to employees.
December 7 – Mrs. Bertha Aman and two year old daughter, Evelyn Viola, die of burns from kerosene explosion.
December 28 – Post office to be made model by installation of all-steel fixtures
Baby left on doorstep of Cleve Crabb home on Christmas morning.
Community enjoys Christmas tree, singing and treat.
January 13 – Culver-Logansport road taken into state highway system.
January 20 – Mrs. Minerva Hartzell celebrates 102nd birthday and is believed one of Indiana’s oldest women.
January 27 – William Baldwin opens service station on Lake Shore Drive.
February 3 – Rev. H.E. Harsh becomes pastor of Grace Reformed Church.
February 17 – Claude Newman home destroyed by fire with loss of about $6, 000.
Dick Louden opens new store, rebuilt after other structure was destroyed by fire.
February 24 - $10, 000 fire destroys Medbourn ice house.
March 9 – Several East Side cottages entered and property stolen.
Large alcohol ring uncovered in Starke county.
March 16 – Fire destroys old Palmer House boat houses with loss of about $2, 700.
April 6 – Raymond Mikesell to open grocery store.
John Winters farm home destroyed by fire.
Culver-Logansport road designated as State Road 17.
April 13 – Frank Parker home destroyed by fire. Family is saved by barking of dog.
John Osborn seriously injured when automobile crashes into train at Bur Oak.
M.R. Robinson’s automobile destroyed when garage burns.
Academy starts work on new open air theatre.
April 20 – Monterey school destroyed with loss of $20, 000.
May 25 – Linco Oil Company starts work on new service station on site of J. Saine & Son store and old landmark is torn down.
Universal Film Company completes local shots for “Tom Brown of Culver” feature film.
June 1 – Pennsylvania railroad discontinues section work here.
June 29 – Severe electrical storm hits Culver and causes considerable damage.
Schlosser Bros. discontinue ice cream station here.
July 13 – Emll Stepman buys Robert’s Plumbing Shop.
Linco Oil Company starts construction of $15, 000 service station.
July 20 – Edward Cook, well known marshall, accidentally killed when gun drops on pavement.
July 27 - Small cyclone hits East Side, overturning boats and piers.
August 10 – New telephone system put into service and old cranking system is discontinued.
August 24 – Work starts on new school building at Monterey.
August 31 – Linco service station opens under management of Howard Mikesell.
September 7 – Mrs. Minerva Hartzell dies at age of 102; was believed to be Indiana’s oldest native woman.
September 14 – Dr. Donald Reed opens office here.
Thieves loot Overmyer store at Leiters Ford of $700 worth of merchandise.
October 5 – Belden cottage on East Side of lake destroyed by fire with loss of $7, 000.
Dr. Barton W. Everman, co-author of survey of Lake Maxinkuckee, dies in California.
October 26 – Frank Timmons opens new restaurant.
November 2 – Culver Black Horse Troop escorts President Hoover in Indianapolis.
Ditmire store at Delong robbed of $43 in cash.
November 16 – Radio station WCMA discontinued.
November 23 – Clarence Calhoun buys Biddinger Barber Shop.
November 30 – Palmer House renamed Maxinkuckee Inn, remodeled and placed under new management.
December 21 – First ice crop in two years is being harvested.
January 6 – Thirty men are employed under WPA widening and improving the runways at the airport on Road 10 near the academy.
January 27 – Academy sends boats to Ohio River flood area.
February 3 – Union township sends $1, 122.46 to flood area.
Kenneth Elyea, of Kalamazoo, Mich.,arrested on charge of robbing Monterey postoffice.
February 10 – Annual ice harvest stopped by rain and thaw.
February 17 – Town orders electric pump to replace disabled Diesel at water plant and signs contract with NIPSCO for new rate structure.
March 3 – E.H. Poland becomes sole owner of the Burr Oak Hardware store formerly known as Currens and Poland.
March 10 – Mild earthquake is felt here.
March 17 – Film projector with sound equipment bought by PTA for use in public schools.
March 24 – Oliver Shilling given five-year lease to operate town bath house.
March 31 – WPA workmen clean predatory fish from Lake Maxinkuckee.
April 21 – Pennsylvania railroad announces that two trains will be discontinued due to lack of patronage.
May 5 – Academy plans $165, 000 improvement of buildings.
Iron and Metal company opens business here.
J.M. Miller sells dairy to son.
May 12 – Loser bus destroyed and Hayes building damaged in $8,000 fire.
May 26 – Easterday Funeral Service adds new ambulance.
Motion picture cooking school held at Culver Citizen.
Bath house open to public for first time.
Star mail routes established to replace discontinued trains.
June 2 – Earl Mishler opens filling station south of town.
June 16 – Verl McFeely opens Culver Bakery.
It is announced that local state police radio station will be moved to Dunes Park.
June 23 – Town board passes ordinance banning handbills.
Mr. and Mrs. G. Cultice open restaurant in Culver Beach Lodge.
July 7 – State forces Burr Oak school to close.
Arthur Simpson sells Coffee Shop to Mr. and Mrs.Garl Cultice.
Dr. Donald Reed moves into newly remodeled office on College Ave.
July 21 – Unidentified hobo found hanging to tree on frank Schmidt farm near Delong.
July 28 – Donald Alexander opens recreation room.
Governor Townsend visits lake on fishing trip.
August 4 – Mrs. Hugh Harper takes over management of Culver Beach Lodge.
September 1 – Rebecca Jones and Helen Calhounbuy dress shop of Mrs. M.C. Dimmick and move to Helen’s Beauty Shop.
September 8 – The Gafill Oil Co. announces plan to build service station at corner of Main Street and Lake Shore Drive.
September 29 – Indiana League of Women Voters holds state conference here.
October 20 – Movement continued to have Road 17 paved through town.
November 3 – Chamber of Commerce requests addition of afternoon mail delivery.
December 1 – Fire at Maxinkuckee Inn causes about $500 damage and excites Thanksgiving guests.
Stillson Bakery opens for business.
December 8 – Mrs. Lottie Marshall takes over management of Hawkins Tavern.
December 15 – Dr. Arthur H. Compton, Nobel Prize winner, speaks at Academy.
Office of town health officer abolished by state.
December 22 – New dial telephone system, with conference feature installed at Academy.
Christmas carols sung by churches of township.
December 29 – Red Cross secures county nurse for schools.
Unusually heavy Christmas business reported at post office and telegraph office.
1942 In Review
January 7 – Prolonged cold wave reaches ten below zero.
January 21 – Town installs floodlights on water tower and pumping station as war measure.
January 28 – Two peanut vending machines stolen from Deep Rock Service Station.
February 25 – Leon Calhoun, nephew of Clarence Calhoun, killed in explosion at Kingsbury.
March 4 – Thirty-five pound timber wolf shot by Fay Neidlinger near Cihak farm.
March 18 – Freak warm wave sends mercury up to 64 degrees on Monday.
March 25 – Disaster Preparedness committee organized.
April 15 – The first Red Cross standard First Aid course completed.
April 29 – Business houses register for sugar on 28th and 29th.
May 6 – Temperature reaches 94 on Thursday and sinks to 49 on Monday.
Householders register for sugar.
Recruit school for state police opens at Academy.
May 27 – Mrs. C.C. Mather’s painting displayed at South Bend exhibition.
Large crowd hears Mr. and Mrs. Frank Southworth tell of experiences at Pearl Harbor.
June 3 – Milk delivery curtailed to every other day.
Mercury hits 104.
June 17 – Heat wave breaks as mercury slumps to 44.
Marshall County exceeds bond quota for month.
F. A. Brewer cottage struck by lightning Thursday.
June 24 – Culver City Drug Store on fire Tuesday.
July 1 – Dr. E. J. Yocum Jr., of Winamac, to open veterinarian office here.
Annual fireworks display at Academy discontinued for duration.
July 8 – Marshall County goes over war bond quota.
Culver Navel School to undergo first official inspection of Navy Department July 9.
July 15 – Chimney at Maxinkuckee Inn struck by lightning.
July 22 – Call off hearing to discontinue two passenger trains on South Bend-Logansport division of Pennsy.
Heat wave breaks after hitting 102.
July 29 – Red Cross to sponsor bridge parties over township.
Academy barn and 100 tons of hay destroyed by fire when lightning strikes.
August 5 – J. M. Miller sells store to daughter.
August 19 – Red Cross victory parties net $387.32.
Pvt. Richard A. Bowles writes composition “Gunter Field March.”
Victory flower garden planted by Charles McLane beautifies town park.
September 9 – New junior college opens at Academy.
September 30 – Township war boards plan for scrap drive.
Temperature drops to 28 degrees to make coldest September readings since records have been kept.
October 7 – County goes over war bond quota.
October 14 – Township rounds up 53,982 ponds of junk in scrap drive.
Over 3,000 keys turned in drive for old keys.
October 21 – Forty tons of metal final count in scrap drive in township.
Johnson’s Super Service installs retreading machine.
October 28 – Fuel oil users to register this week.
November 18 – Registration held for gas rationing.
November 24 – 774 register for gas coupons.
W.P.B. requests no outdoor lighting for Christmas this year.
December 2 – High school to revamp program to aid war needs.
December 9 – “Share the meat” week in progress.
Navy recruiting station to open at post office.
637 tires and tubes turned in from Culver.
December 30 – Newman Brothers, and J. A. Newman & Sons sell 18 head of cattle for $4,600 to two buyers.
Joe Schwidler closes Lake Shore Garage for duration.
1947 In Review
January 15 – Culver’s worst tragedy happened Saturday night when four children drowned in the lake.
January 29 – Work has been started on remodeling of State Exchange Bank basement.
February 5 – Danny McGeoghegan, alleged leader of the gang which held up the State Exchange Bank in 1933, surrendered to police in Chicago when caught in the act of robbing a safe.
February 19 - $65,000 fire destroys building at Academy.
The interior of the Culver Café has been improved.
February 26 – Sunday passenger trains of the Pennsy to be discontinued.
G. O. Mayse has purchased R. G. Smith’s interest in the Lake Shore Garage and will continue to operate it as in the past.
March 19 – Bus line to Plymouth to start next Monday.
The display window at Foreman’s store has been remodeled.
March 26 – Hot lunch equipment for school students is being purchased.
Tibbett’s buys Van’s Grocery at Maxinkuckee.
April 9 – Donald Behmer has purchased the Savage share of the boat house on South Shore Lane.
Mrs. William Herrmann has purchased Helen’ Beauty Shop.
April 16 – A 131-foot steel bridge at Monterey falls with trucker, who escaped injury.
April 23 – The barn on the Academy farm near the airport was destroyed by fire.
May 14 – Freight cars crashed into the porch at the Charles Barnhill home.
Everet Hoesel leases El Rancho theatre to George Graf of Laporte.
An explosion of cleaning fluid starts fire in William Melock home.
May 28 – Dr. R. L.Witham, physician and surgeon, starts practice here.
June 18 – Heavy demand for sugar at the end of rationing.
June 25 – Lions Club members build playground court in the park.
July 2 – Start work on temporary bridge at Monterey.
July 16 – Academy radio towers are being dismantled.
July 30 – Tibbetts sell East Side store to Gene Frederick.
New truck increases fire department to three.
August 6 – Academy has started another apartment building on the East Side.
September 3 – Storms leave Culver without electricity for a while, hail stones fell during the storm.
Water tower being painted on the outside and cleaned on the inside.
September 10 – New School cafeteria, completely equipped, starts serving hot lunches.
A wild, piercing scream aroused neighborhood at night, which might have been a wild animal.
Dr.Oscar Wesson opens his veterinarian office near Culver.
October 1 – Wickizer’s store sold to Fort Wayne men and will be known as the Culver Department Store.
October 8 – Construction work on new C. M. A. buildings to start this week.
Don Priest has purchased Grill and will remodel before opening for business.
November 5 – Grill to open tomorrow after remodeling.
November 19 – New building being erected by Paul Snyder to house a jewelry store.
November 26 – Pennsy train service ends here Thursday.
Sports store opens opposite town park.
December 3 – Work has started on moving houses at C. M. A. for expansion program.
Local lumber companies to consolidate with George Babcock manager.
December 10 – Additional truck service for mail replaces train.
Dr. Henricks, dentist to open office Jan. 5 in former Dr. Martin residence.
December 17 – The Dukes Jewelry and Gift Store to open in the Snyder building and Richard Nitzchke to operate barber shop in the Amond building.
December 17 – The Dukes Jewelry and Gift Store to open in the Snyder building and Richard Nitzchke to operate barber shop in the Amond building.
1952 In Review
January 2 – The contract for the construction of the new elementary school building here has been awarded to the Russell L. Easterday Construction Company.
January 9 – Construction work on new grade school building started this week by Russell L. Easterday has made necessary emergency traffic regulations along School Street….
January 16 – Thieves broke into two automobile firms in Culver sometime Monday night.Entrance to both the Hatten Motor Sales and E. Thoner and Sons Chevrolet Inc., was gained by breaking windows.
February 6 – Property Holders and users of the sewage system being constructed for joint use of town of Culver and Culver Military Academy will begin monthly payments first of April town officials announced…
H. D. Winkler, veteran Nickle Plate agent at Hibbard, has resigned his position with the Railroad company and has purchased the Shell Service Station here from Paul Begin…
February 20 – Property owners residing between Mill and Davis Streets on both Main and Ohio Streets, whose properties join at the rear of the lots, attended a meeting at Town Hall , Monday night where they had been invited by the Town Board of Trustees to discuss necessity of securing an easement for laying of a sewer in connection with the construction of sewerage disposal system.
March 5 – Transfer of ownership of one of Marshall County’s oldest newspapers was effected this week when Mr. and Mrs. William T. Eggbeer took over management of the 74-year old Argos Reflector…
The parked car of Dr. Robert Witham rolled down slight incline along Ohio Street and broke off fire hydrant near post office last Friday causing a small geyser until Verl McFeely, water superintendent, was able to plug the hole.
A near capacity crowd of interested citizens attended the regular meeting of the Town Board on Monday evening. Many attending were property owners along Main Street where the town is seeking an easement for placing a sewer line at back of the properties…
March 19 – Price of school lunches will be advanced from 25 cents to 30 cents beginning March 24…
An Erie Freight train accident Saturday piled up 16 cars at Delong…
April 23 – Repair of Town Park swimming pier and erection of a high dive approved by Lions Directors…
May 7 – Representatives Of this community and officials of the State Departments of Conservation and Highways conferred last week at Indianapolis concerning possibilities for state establishment control of a roadside park on the open west shore of Lake Maxinkuckee along state Road 17.
May 21 – Culver-Union PTA announces purchase of Spencer Projector and three Webster record players for elementary school.
The State Exchange Bank announces plans to occupy another room in the two-story bank building here; the room was formerly occupied by Western Union.
June 11 – Transfer of ownership of Lakeside Grocery Announced this week by Arthur Schweidler, who has sold store to Harlan F. Holmes…
June 18 – Robbers, who broke into Hatten Motor Sales garage last Wednesday night took 165 dollars in cash, also took a 350-pound safe. The safe was later found at the Bridegroom gravel pit near Leiters Ford…
Raymond E. Kline has purchased Oberlin Electric Appliance Store.
July 2 – Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Slaughter announce the sale of the Culver News Agency to Mr. and Mrs. H. Serrin of Plymouth…
July 9 – The first drowning in Lake Maxinkuckee since 1947 occurred July 4 when the body of Curtis Blanton, of Louellen, Ky., was found in three feet of water at the town beach.
July 16 – The “flying saucer”question arose in the Lake Maxinkuckee vicinity as several persons saw a strange cigar-shaped and brilliantly lighted object streak through the heavens above the lake on Saturday night…
July 30 – Culver-Union Township Chamber of Commerce in cooperation with Culver residents took steps this week to adopt a central phone system to make available a satisfactory and efficient service to those having rooms to rent.
September 10 – Fred Strefling became the new owner of the local Chevrolet Agency purchased the business from E. Thoner.
September 24 – Schoolbell page in the Culver Citizen published by the CHS Press Club starts in today’s paper.
October 8 – Mr. and Mrs. Cary Cummins have purchased the Shively Apartment Building…
October 29 – The tinder dry area has caused a rash of fires in this vicinity….
November 12 – Grade teachers, pupils took up new residence in the completed wing of the new building Friday…
November 19 – The new school building open house attracted about 1,000 visitors…
November 26 – The Culver News Agency moved from the corner of Main and Madison Street to the Wickizer Building.
December 10 – Omer Hook buys Chas.VanMeter International Harvester firm here and will take over Jan. 1st…
Don Miller opened his new office last week in the Trone Building….
December 24 – Joe Furnas, local agriculture teacher, introduces the American Landrace, a new breed of hogs, to this community….
1958 In Review
January 1 – Ammonia fumes cause excitement at the Quality Grocery
January 8 – Eileen’s Dress Shop goes out of business…
Post office at Hibbard closes after 75 years…
Two service stations at Main and Jefferson Streets were burglarized over the weekend…
January 29 – Dr. John Oldham will open dental office here in April in the basement of the NIPSCO building…
February 12 – Extensive plans for remodeling are underway at the Emanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church…
February 19 – Culver is in the grip of one of its most severe winters in several years with zero temperatures prevailing and no immediate relief in sight…
March 5- Culver’s worst train wreck in many years occurred Monday morning when 14 gondola freight cars loaded stoker coal piled up along the right-of-way near the Pennsylvania station which adjoins the Town Park…
March 12 – Freight train hits station wagon and truck in freak accident at 10:13 Saturday night in front of the Pennsylvania railroad station…
New modern machine shop is installed at Culver High School…
March 19 – Mrs. Helene Boots opens paint and wallpaper store at 110 South Main Street…
Foster F. Sheller will practice dentistry here about the middle of April…
Ground was broken last Friday for the new million-dollar addition to Parkview Hospital in Plymouth…
Marvin E. Vercler, D.O., will begin the practice of medicine, surgery, and obstetrics as an associate of the Culver Clinic this summer…
March 26 – John Oldham, dentist, opens office on April 1 in the basement of the new NIPSCO building…
A ground-breaking ceremony for the new Methodist parsonage was conducted at noon Sunday, March 22…
April 23 – Beautiful Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church sanctuary to be dedicated next Sunday…
Two of the five Culver girls who attended Saturday’s convention of the Sunshine Society at Crawfordsville were victims of the severe food poisoning incident…
April 30 – State Exchange Bank announces the opening of its parking lot directly west of the bank…
May 7 – Formal dedication of the new $1 million Argos Community Schools building was held last Sunday…
Dr. Foster F. Sheller, coming here from Washington D.C., will begin practice of dentistry…
May 14 – E. M. Espich buys local shoe repair shop…
May 21 – H.J. Forester of Knox to open watch repair shop here…
June 4 – The new “Bonded Gasoline” service station on Lake Shore Drive opposite the Town Park has opened for business…
Culver-Union Township Public Library Board has purchased a Library Book Return Box as a service and convenience to patrons…
June 11 – The State Exchange Bank will formally open beautiful new buildings at Culver and Argos on Friday…
June 18 – Heavy rains cause the collapse of the new Culver Dental Building now under construction…
June 25 – Dr. Marvin E. Vercler joins the staff of the Culver Osteopathic Clinic…
Mr. and Mrs. John J. Byrum take over the management of the Culver Lodge Motel and restaurant…
July 9 – John Jewell, 41 of Wabash drowns in Lake near Academy’s swimming pier…
Mrs. A R .Elliot christens the Academy’s new ship the “Admiral Yarnell,” at Fourth of July ceremonies…
July 23 – Mart C. Patton, raving, drunk, and abusive, terrorizes town in Saturday night spree…
August 6 – Bob May escapes from burning motor boat…
August 27 – Mr. and Mrs. William Washburn announce the closing of The Barn, popular sandwich shop and recreation center on North School St., this fall…
September 3 – “The Trailsman,” Main Street sporting goods store, is going out of business
Monterey will dedicate new post office September 7…
September 17 – New Standard Oil Company (Indiana) Service Station will be built at the corner of Main and Washington Streets, where the old Methodist parsonage was torn down last week…
September 24 – Culver Boat Co. is erecting a new two-story boat storage building…
Earl D. Overmyer buys Don Hand’s Soft Water Service…
October 1 – Culver firemen fail to save rural Jordan Church which was destroyed in Sunday morning fire…
October 15 – First services were held last Sunday in the new Bible Church now being constructed on South Main Street…
November 19 – The license of the Culver City Tavern is suspended temporarily...
December 3 – Dr. Oscar Wesson opens newly built animal hospital…
December 10 – Tibbetts Store at Burr Oak is quitting business with even the building and land for sale…
December 17 – December cold wave is the worst in 87 years...
Chain fence along south boundary of Masonic Cemetery is stolen…
December 31 – Culver post office will get a new $939 flagpole…
The Culver Inn wins award from Duncan Hines…
1963 In Review
January 3 – Dale’s D-X Service Station is purchased by Anton William (Tony) Cihak after the business has been operated by Dale Jones for the past 20 years…
First class mail rates increase Jan. 7, sending the cost of a letter to five cents, postal cards are now four cents each, and an air mail latter now requires eight cents postage…
January 9 – The Easterday Funeral Home has been purchased by Mr. and Mrs. James D. Bonine and will be operated under the name of Easterday-Bonine Funeral Home…
Park ‘N Shop has purchased the M. R. Cline Builders Store and will erect a large new super market on that site…
The Johnson Tire Service was purchased Jan. 7 by the partnership of Harold Miller, Robert Miller, and Wesley Schilling, and will retain the present firm name…
January 23 – Culver Community School Unit will have office at 110 South Main St. in Culver…
A Saturday evening alarm sent the Culver Firemen to the Crystal Coin Laundry where a washing machine motor burned…
Damages amounting to $2,500 was inflicted on the St. Mary’s of the Lake Catholic Church Rectory in a Sunday morning fire…
February 6 – Taylor’s Ben Franklin store is undergoing extensive remodeling and redecorating…
Culver City Drug Store has remodeled and added floor space to their store and the back entrance is also being improved…
March 13 – The Board of School Trustees of Culver Community Schools, in a meeting on March 12, approved by majority vote to unite the high schools of the school corporation at the beginning of the 1964-65 school term…
March 27 – Cadet P. E. Tovrea took part Saturday and personally greeted President Kennedy during dedication ceremonies in Chicago at O’Hare Field, named for the cadet’s uncle, Butch O’Hare who was a Navel war ace…
April 24 – Mr. and Mrs. Tom K. Walker purchase Jack’s Taxi business…
May 8 – Lake Maxinkuckee Association, Inc., has purchased a new 18-ft. boat for patrol work on the Lake this season…
May 15 – Culver Clothiers robbed of nearly $7,000 in merchandise during early Sunday hours…
Park ‘N Shop to open new store tomorrow and will feature special bargains Thursday, Friday, and Saturday…
May 29 – Denny’s Standard Service Station has been purchased by Melvin Shidler of North Judson…
June 26 – Charley Frain will open his own repair shop on Lake Shore Drive July 1…
July 3 – Seven are injured in explosion of combination home and garage at junction of Highways 14and 17…
July 24 – CMA will dedicate its new $850,000 Woodcraft Camp Saturday…
Snyder Motor Sales, 215 West Jefferson St., are in the process of moving into their new two-story addition…
August 14 – The Culver Jaycees have just completed their first major community project, the building of a new beach area on the shoreline of the Culver Town Park, beginning at the west edge of the present beach…
September 11 – Gates & Calhoun move to former Park ‘N Shop building and Dick Dawson joins their staff…
September 25 – Gates & Calhoun Chevrolet, Inc. holds Grand Opening this Friday, and Saturday at their new location in the former Park ‘N Shop building…
October 9 – Indiana sales tax will go into effect Oct. 23…
October 16 – Culver Clothiers is robbed again Saturday night…
November 13 – Culver and Aubbee basketball teams have new uniforms and colors…
November 27 – Public memorial services for the late President John F. Kennedy were held Monday noon in the Culver Community Building…
Jerry Knepper is new manager of Culver’s A & P Store…
1968 In Review
January 4 – Dr. Ernest Norris announced his retirement from the practice of medicine…
January 11 – Residents of Culver were without water for several hours when a car knocked over a water hydrant on Jefferson St….
January 18 – Thieves broke into the Cardinal Service Station and made off with the safe and two tires…
February 1 – A fire of undetermined origin completely destroyed the interior and the contents of the Theodore L. Ervin home at 726 Peru Court…
The Raymond Gangloff home at Jarrah and E. 7th roads was heavily damaged by fire and all their possessions destroyed…
The Little Gallery, 211 E. Washington St., opened for business Jan. 29…
February 15 – Jack Spencer has purchased the LP Gas Business from Al Poppe…
March 7 – “Culver Community High School” is adopted as the official name of the new high school…
The Lake Shore Clinic announces that Dr. Michael Deery will join the staff in April…
March 21 – The Culver Fire Dept. extinguished a blaze in the kitchen of the Culver Military Academy…
March 28 – The Marshall Co. Crime Alert was put into effect March 19…
April 25 – Communion service was held to celebrate the merger of the congregations of the Culver Methodist Church and the Culver Evangelical United Brethren Church…
May 16 – Vandals set the Maxinkuckee Cruiser adrift and damaged much of the interior…
July 11 – A public to be held July 23 on relocating State Rd. 10 was announced…
July 18 – Due to embargo on mail service in Canada, the local post office is not accepting any form of mail to Canada…
July 25 – John E. Mann, D. O. and family have moved to Culver where Dr. Mann has become associated with Dr. James D. Leach and Dr. G. W. Stevenson , Jr. at the Culver Clinic…
August 1 – The Culver Beach Lodge was burglarized to the tune of five or six hundred dollars…
August 8 – A long range plan for modernizing the Culver Public Library using a federal grant was presented to the library board…
August 15 – Tim Baltes was arrested for an attempted robbery of the State Exchange Bank’s drive-in window…
September 5 – A tragic accident claimed the lives of Clyde and Sandra Craft…
Marshall County Lumber Co. became Culver Lumber, Inc.under the management of Wally Dinsmore…
October 3 – The Lyndon B. Johnson natural beauty program citation was awarded to the Culver Post Office…
November 7 – Ronald Tusing held a Grand Announcement to announce his ownership of Mr. T’s Culver Rexall Drug store…
November 14 – The congregation of the Methodist Church voted to change the name of the church to the Wesley United Methodist Church…
Culver Community High School will be known in athletics as the Cavaliers…
November 28 – Wrestling is introduced as new varsity sport at CCHS
December 19 – Donald Hamilton has been appointed new manager of McGills…
1991 In Review
January 2 – Severe flooding followed torrential rains, and the Culver water tower went dry at the peak of the storm, leaving virtually everyone in town without water...
January 9 – Monterey residents lamented the flooding of the Tippecanoe River...
January 16 – Construction of the Huffington Library was under way on the Culver Academies campus with pouring of concrete footings expected any day…
January 23 – It was revealed that the Culver Inn would be demolished sometime in the spring…
February 13 – Steel work was reported complete for a new C Pier at the Culver Town Park…
February 27 – Funeral services were scheduled for Todd Tusing, who had disappeared mysteriously from the campus of Vincennes University, where he was a student…
March 13 – An unexpected late winter snowstorm brought traffic to a virtual halt, and a snow emergency was declared in Marshall County…
March 20 – Sightings of two bald eagles were reported on the edge of Lake Maxinkuckee…
March 27 – The Culver Inn was slated for demolition by the end of the week…
April 10 – A New “yield”sign was placed at the key intersection of Main Street and Lake Shore Drive…
Law-enforcement authorities were seeking a gunman who robbed an Argos Park ‘n Shop employee…
April 24 – The Parlor, 114 N. Main St., was temporarily closed after a fire broke out in a fluorescent lighting fixture…
May 22 – Police are looking for an arsonist who set a fire at the Woodcraft Camp at the Culver Academies…
May 29 – Two Culver Military Academy students were expelled after admitting their involvement in the fire that did $10,000 in damage at the Woodcraft Camp…
June 19 – Lightning struck St. Anne’s Church, Monterey, during a severe storm…
June 26 – Residents of Miller’s Merry Manor, Culver, were evacuated by employees and Culver volunteer firemen after a fire filled the facility with smoke…
July 10 – Residents returned to two pods of Miller’s Merry Manor…
July 24 – Culver officials were busy eradicating marijuana which was about two weeks early in its development…
August 28 – D. W. Wallcovering moved from Starke County to Culver, where it is occupying the former Shirt Shed building…
Culver’s Fleet Post No. 103 of the American Legion dissolved with a final get-together…
September 11 – The first woman firefighter in Marshall County, Mary Hinderliter, began training with the Culver-Union Township Volunteer Fire Department…
September 18 – One man was killed and toxic smoke released into the air in a train collision near the Starke County Airport…
October 23 – Walker Manufacturing has announced it may hire 70 people in preparation for its role in supplying the exhaust system for a new Chrysler car to be introduced in 1993…
Plans for the Leiters Ford branch of the Society Bank to close Dec. 6 were announced…
October 30 – The Citizen announced it was moving across the street to 107 S. Main…
November 20 – The Culver Thrift Shop found a new location at 215 S. Ohio St….
Maxinkuckee Home Supply Inc. filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy in U. S. Bankruptcy Court in South Bend…
December 4 – Prowlers were reported on two occasions around Culver residences…
December 11 – An outbreak of a flu-like illness sent many students home from the Culver Community Schools…
The name of Buckeye Feed and Supply at Monterey was changed to Frick Services Inc…
1996 In Review
January 24 – Culver-Union Township Emergency Medical Services received approval for two full-time paid employees after a lengthy debate by the town council…
A landmark tavern at the southern edge of Langenbaum Lake near Monterey was destroyed by fire…
January 31 – Culver police were investigating the theft of a large amount of money from the Revco Drug Store…
Fire ravaged a historic cottage owned by the Sturman family during a wind and snow storm on the East Shore…
March 13 – A suspect in a Lakeville shooting and a companion were taken into custody by Culver police officer Jerry Palmer on East Shore Drive…
April 3 – Culver Community Schools Supt. Brad Schuldt was authorized to enter into a contract to provide internet service to the two school buildings in Culver…
April 10 – Work was under way to replace the loading dock at the Culver Post Office…
April 24 – A line of tornadoes touched down between Burr Oak and Hibbard, resulting in heavy damage…
May 8 – The building on East Jefferson Street that once served as a livery barn and later as a lumber company was torn down…
May 29 – The Multi-County Drug Task Force arrested eight people on a variety of charges at a rural home commonly known as “the farm.”
June 12 – The town accepted a former gas station property purchased and cleaned up by James Dicke of New Bremen, Ohio …
August 14 – A new fire truck was dedicated in a ceremony at Monterey…
August 21 – Former Culver addictions therapist, James Lloyd was charged with murder in the death of David Garland of Knox…
August 28 – Tim Crowel was killed and Jan Eby was injured in a crash of a single-engine plane piloted by Eby in Michigan…
September 11 – Neil Berdine, a Culver Community Junior-Senior High School freshman, was killed and fellow student Kenneth Romney Allen was seriously injured in a moped accident near Monterey…
September 25 – The Culver-Union Township Public Library board agreed to meet with the architect who designed North Judson’s expansion, which included saving the town’s Carnegie library…
October 2 – Lucas Marshman, 19, was killed in a construction accident at a house on South Main Street…
October 9 – The Dicke Administration Center was dedicated in the Legion Memorial Building on the campus of the Culver Academies…
November 6 – The Antiquarian and Historical Society of Culver revealed plans for a small park on the site of the former Texaco gasoline station at the southwest corner of Main and Jefferson…
December 4 – The Culver-Union Township Public Library Board declined to sponsor a feasibility study to learn whether the present Carnegie library building could be preserved in an expanded library facility, but the Antiquarian and Historical Society of Culver said it would sponsor the study on its own…
A savage harvest of pine trees in the Marshall County Memorial Forest was among logging projects north of Culver, trees downed in the spring tornado were being cut elsewhere…
December 18 – Friends said goodbye at funeral services for Jerome J. and Elizabeth J. Zechiel, who were killed in a two-vehicle accident north of Plymouth…
From By-Ways to Highways, Buggies to Autos, Railways to Airways . . .
1679 – LaSalle discovered passageway, St. Joseph River – Kankakee Portage.
1600’s – 1700’s – Travel by Potawatomi, Fox, Miami Indians, French Trappers (Astor & Hudson Bay) used canoes, bateaux, rafts, ---Indian trails, rivers, lakes. Area used traces included: Portage Trace to east; Westward Trace to Lake Michigan; Kankakee Trace; Yellow River Trace; Tippecanoe River Trace north to St. Joe River; trails through swamps and finger extensions of Grand Prairie, Fox-Grape and Pearson Prairies; Trails marked by Trail Trees.
1787 – Along with enactment of Northwest Ordinance Congress adopts public land survey system (Congressional Twp. – 6-mile square numbered blocks) which eventually provided for section line roads.
1816 – Indiana becomes 19th State. Settlers came to Indiana by boat or overland on Buffalo, Indian traces.
1820’s-1836 – Series of Indian treaties ceding lands to government.
1825 – Indiana had 52 counties as treaties opened to settlement large area north Wabash, Eel Rivers
1886 – Potawatomi Indians cede 100-foot right-of-way, Lake Michigan to Wabash River then to Ohio River, plus section contiguous to road
1827 – U.S. Congress approves 1826 treaty providing for Michigan Road
1836 – Pioneers arrive, -- overland from Southern Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio. Settlements at Maxinkuckee, Geneva (Culver-Uniontown), Wolf Creek, Poplar Grove, Plymouth, Twin Lakes, Leiters Ford, Buena Vista (Monterey), High ground trails led to villages.
1836 -- Construction of Michigan Road underway with clearing of land. Financed by sale of land, --166,913 acres sold for $241,173.Construction had started in 1832.
1840 – Sale of Lands, U.S. Land Office, Northwest Indiana, Winamac.
1840’s – Transport of grain from area overland to Logansport mill took 2 weeks travel time.
1848 – Indiana land surveyed: 21,359, 707 acres; lands sold, 15,477,628 acres; reserved-common schools, 631,803 acres; swamp lands, 981,682 acres; Indian Reserves, 126,220 acres; unsold 3,271,780 acres. Marshall County: taxable land, 181,154 acres, unsold 70,000 acres
1848 -- In 1848 George Eaton built ¾ mile bridge across Kankakee River at Potawatomie Crossing which aided the settlement of Northwest Indiana.
1850’s – Bridges were few, --- one of the first across Tippecanoe, Michigan Road, to the west, Germany Bridge, 1879; Leiters Ford, Marshland (Delong), at Monterey, west of Monterey, Haschell Bridge, 1870’s; Yellow River Bridge on Behmer Road crossing, Wolf Creek, etc.
1850’s – Marshland-swamp areas hindered road building. In Culver and just south were Hawk’s Marsh and Green’s Marsh (near Long Point); to the west were the Lake Manitau and Houghton Lake and Marsh, to the northeast were wet lowlands. Planking aided in some areas and high knoll passage ways, and river fording.
1851 – Eight streets in Uniontown (Culver): Cass, Jefferson, Madison, Lake (Lake Shore Drive), Main, Scott, Washington, and Scott Streets
1856 – On Nov. 12 Ft. Wayne-Chicago R.R. line (Pennsy) reached Plymouth.
1863 – Public road, around East Shore to South side, Lake Maxinkuckee opened. The road passed through Van Schoiack barnyard where gate had to be opened, closed. Some indication that tolls were charged.
1870’s – Drainage of wetlands, bridge building, road improvement slowly underway. Main roads included, northeast route to Wolf Creek Mills, Behmer Road to Plymouth, Maxinkuckee Road to Argos, Routes to Leiters Ford, Monterey, and later to Kewanna-Logansport.
1882 – Vandalia Rail line (Logansport-South Bend) engineers survey local routes, including one along East Shore of Lake, other West Shore which was used for route.
1882 -- Nickel Plate (New York-Chicago) rail line completed. Stations planned at Hibbard, Rutland, Burr Oak completed 1884; 1st train, August 30, 1882.
1883 – Vandalia rail line reaches Culver from Logansport, June 30. One passenger train daily. ( later called the Chicago-Atlantic)
1883 -- Erie-Lackawanna rail line from East reaches Rochester, later Leiters Ford, Delong, Monterey. Reached Chicago 1890.
1884 – Bicycles new mode of transportation in East.
1880-1915 – Steamboats on Lake Maxinkuckee is means of transportation.. (See Historical listing, Lake Boats)
1887 – L.E. & W. rail line (Peru-Michigan City via Argos LaPorte) completed.
1889 – July 18 – 12,000 visitors arrive at Culver to attend Culver Park Assembly aboard excursion trains, ---990 passengers from Logansport; 644, South Bend; 573, Terra Haute; 370, Fort Wayne; 244, Kewanna; 650, Plymouth; 324 Erie-Lackawanna; 1024 New York Central, etc.
- L.E. & W. Railroad advertised special excursion from Argos to Indianapolis; fare $1.00.
- Auto steam engine powered vehicle patented.
1892 – Durea patents auto gasoline engine.
1895 – Nickel Plate Railroad considers building branch line, Burr Oak to Culver
1897 – Nickel Plate operates 8 passenger trains daily. In 1898 their trains featured Wagner Sleeping Cars and Diner.
1900 – Weekend excursions brought 5 to 7 thousand visitors to lake during Summer-Fall.
1902-03 – Gasoline powered autos make appearance in area.
1903 – Improved gravel base road encircles Lake Maxinkuckee…Newspaper item “Culver needs more hitching racks for traders”
…. Airplane with motor invented
1904 – In a 24-HP Winton auto, Knight Culver and his family drove from St. Louis to Culver arriving here after 4 days, Oct.3rd… On Nov.1 the Logansport-South Bend extension, Vandalia Railroad went out of receivership into hands, new owner, Pennsylvania Railroad.
1900’s – S.C. Shilling was among first car dealers in area selling Ford Model T.
1905 – Rail excursions, regular trains brought more than 5,100 visitors to lake, July 16 ….NEWS ITEM: Fine for hitching horses to shade trees: $10.00.” …
…ADV.: Hayes & Son Livery, “Buggies at your own price” … NEWS REPORT: Mr. & Mrs. Osborn injured when auto struck their buggy, Lake Shore Drive.
…. Town speed limits: Bus District, 8 mph; residential areas, 15 mph; rural roads, 20 mph. (Note: signs posted, 1908)
1910 – Train Timetable shows 6 trains daily, 4 on Sunday with stops at Arlington, Culver Station, CMA, and Hibbard.
- January 27th, South Bend-Logansport Traction Line Co. plans for Interurban line through area. In preliminary plan, route to skirt east side of Lake. Promoters seek to establish amusement park, Van Schoiack Farm. Later plans indicate change of route with line to go down Lake Shore Drive, and Main Street, Culver.
1911 – Town to pave section of Main Street with Poster brick .Cost $4.60 @ lineal ft.
1914 – In May, Marshall County Commissioners announce award of contracts for graveling road, Union Township, and brick paving of street in Culver.
1915 – Town of Culver has 11/8 miles of brick paved streets.
1916 – Newspaper reports that as of October 20th S.C. Shilling has sold 36 Fords this year.
1918 – November 17th, Nickel Plate passenger train and freight train in head-on collision at Burr Oak. Rescue efforts hampered by 10-ft. snow drifts. Rever Auto, 85 MPH.
1919 – June 9th, construction work starts on road to Academy from Bunker Hill extending 5500-ft., north, CMA stables Cost ; $14,000. (NOTE: Earlier rd. ran close, Aubbeenabbee Bay, entering CMA grounds about where Logansport Gate located).
- May 12, Walker Winslow, Lake Resident purchases an airplane. . . . . NEWS REPORT May 21: “Airplane flying overhead nearly unbelievable” . . . July 2, Air rides: $5.00 for 15-minute ride.
1920 – Vandalia Depot destroyed by fire, January 12. Construction began on new station in spring
- November 17, State Highway Commission announces plans for new east-west highway, St. Rd. #50 (later S.R. #10), Warsaw to Demotte.
1921 – D. Hatten named dealer for Maxwell Auto.
- November 17, A.L. Warner using a Reo chassis constructed a home on wheels to drive to Florida.
1922 –News comment states ownership of Oakland Essex and Moon Cars are status symbols.
- May 24, Culver-Bass Lake gravel base road opened.
1923 – Culver-Plymouth Behmer Road to be paved
1925 – Motor busses begin replacing 2-horse drawn school hacks. Hacks began transporting pupils in 1900 in area
- New Culver Car Agency handles Star Auto.
1926 – Losier Tazi Co. adds 15-passenger bus to taxi fleet.
1929 – Features of new Model A Ford demonstrated early in May . . . New Chevrolet price: $595.
- May 29, State road oiled to keep down dust. . . . . Submit petition to county to pave road around Long Point. . . . August, announce plans to pave Ohio and Madison Streets. . . . Petition state to pave State Road 10
- 1909 – Capt. Bays drove his Auburn from Culver to Sullivan Indiana in 11 hrs. Casualties: 1 dog, 2 chickens, 1 turkey
- 1900’s Recreationally sailing, speed boats, ice sailing boats, canoeing, John-boat river trips became popular.
1930 – February 26th, roads impassable due to sudden thaw. Only outlet from Culver is paved road to Plymouth. State Road 10 closed . . . Final section Lake Shore Drive paved; College Avenue to be paved . . . September 24, Gasoline 14.4 cents @ gallon.
1931 – Petition state for North-South, -- Plymouth-Culver-Logansport State Road . . . . News account tells of Culver family driving to Cleveland Ohio in 17 hrs.
1932 – January 12, Plymouth-Logansport highway route through Culver (West Shore, Main Street, Lake Shore Drive becomes State Road 17.)
1940 – State Highway Commission to incorporate 10-mile extension of Fulton-Marshall County line road into state highway system (State Road 110).
1942 – In July Pennsylvania Railroad petitions to eliminate two local passenger trains . . . November 18, motorists register for gas rationing . . . Note: in 1943 gas stations limited to 72 hrs. per week, Fifield Road widened, 1941.
1947 – March 24, Inaugurate Culver-Plymouth bus service. April 1, Construction begins, 4-lane U.S. 31 Plymouth-South Bend, November 27 – Last Pennsylvania train through Culver.
1949 – July 11, new bridge over Yellow river, north of Burr Oak opened . . . C & O. discontinues passenger service through Kewanna
1950’s – State Road 110 widened; State Road 17 relocated west of Culver; State Road 117, east shore established. Relocation of State Road 10 plans shelved, 1953
1952 – South Shore Road relocated. Many UFOs sighted.
1973 – Energy shortage; Gasoline in short supply
1976 – Pennsylvania Railroad announces rail traffic close.
1979 – Gasoline shortage; Gasoline as high as $1.11.
Along The Area’s Educational Trail
1787 – Northwest Ordinance includes Article stating education to be encouraged
1791 – 10th Amendment, U.S. Const. places responsibility for education with states.
1790’s – Public education began in Indiana Territory with establishment of parochial schools, --Presbyterian, Methodist, Catholic.
1816 – Indiana 1816 Const. states General Assembly to provide for general system of education in graduation to university. – Parochial education in area—Father Badin, Twin Lakes; Rev. Isaac McCoy, Niles and N. Indiana.
1831 – Enacted statute provides that 3 trustees are to control school & Twp. Funds.
1834 – 1st general school law provides for rural school and county seminaries.
1836-37 – Thomas McDonald starts first Union Twp. school.
1840 – 3 schools in Marshall Co., 1st school, Aubbeenaubbss Twp; 1841, 1st school, Tippecanoe Twp.
1842 – Both district and subscription schools included in educational system.
1848 – In State Referendum on Free Schools, Union Twp. vote: 38 for; 21 against.
1851 – Indiana 1st state to provide in its new constitution (Art. 8) for free public education.
1852 – Gen. Assembly statute permits tax levy on property for schools. (It was not until after Civil War that levies were authorized to finance education)
- New statute places schools under 1 trustee instead of three.
1853 – Beginning of graded school system.
1862 – Records show 84 schools, Marshall Co.
1874 – Average school term length: 6.4 months.
1875 – Record shows 130 schools, Marshall Co.
1840-1979 – Aubbeenaubbee Twp.has been served by 11 schools, -- Leiters Ford, Delong, Sandhill, Beaver, Myers, Paw Paw (Smallpox), Hartman, Ditmire, Polley, Hays (Mt. Hope), and Ellis.
1841-1979 – Tippecanoe Twp. has been served by 11 schools;--1841 Campbell, 1889 La Fountain, 1880 Casey, 1889 Get-A-Way, 1900 Center, 1912 Meeks, 1844 Monterey, Wilson, Wade, O.K., Lawton, (Mud College).
1850-1960 – North Bend Twp. served by 8 schools, --Parker, 1880 Schmidt, Horner, Kelly, Bass Lake (Winona), 1897 Ora, 1913 North Bend and Williams.
1836-1979 – Union Twp. served by 15 schools, --1899 Culver H.S.; Culver Elementary, Burr Oak, Hibbard, Rutland, Maxinkuckee, Washington, Kaley, Mt. Pleasant, Hillside, Sickman, Poplar Grove, 1864 Shaw, Kaley (Zion).
1894 – Culver Military Academy opens.
1895 – St. Ann’s School, Monterey opens.
1897 – 1st North Bend Twp. H. S.
1899 – 1st graduating class Culver H. S.
1900 – 1-room school buildings doomed as new State limits walking distance to 2-miles.
Horse drawn hacks used to transport pupils, as districts consolidate.
1902 – Culver Summer Naval School established.
1906 – Culver School Building dedicated, (School St.)
1907 – CMA Summer Calvary School opens.
1910 – School Board Purchases 10-acre site (School St.)
1912 – CMA Woodcraft Camp begins
1913 – New North Bend Twp. H. S. dedicated
1915 – Cit. Mil Tr. Camp at CMA (CMTC)
1921 – New 3-story Culver H. S. building dedicated
1929 – Local Public School became Twp. School
- New Community building dedicated.
1930 – Monterey High School destroyed by fire
1931 – North Bend H. S. discontinued. Students transferred to Culver, Knox.
1936 – Dedicated new Monterey H. S.
1942 – CMA Junior College organized
1945 – Aubbeenaubbee H. S. destroyed by fire
1951-52 – New Aubbeenaubbee H. S. dedicated
1952 – New Culver Elementary Building dedicated
1959 – State School Reorganization Law enacted.
1963 – State approves area reorganized school district,-- Aubbeenaubbee, North Bend, Union Twp.
1967 – Tippecanoe Twp. joins local district
- Merge Aubbee, Culver, Monterey H.S.
1968 – Dedicate new Culver Community H. S. building
1971 – Culver Academy for Girls, CMA
1973 – CMA, School of Aviation
ADMINISTRATION, Culver Public Schools, 1899-1979
-Superintendent of Schools-
1899-1911 – I. S. Hahn
1911-1914 – W. P. Bland
1914-1915 – Lenore McLaughlin
1915-1916 – James D. Darnell
1916-1917 – Lenore McLaughlin
1917-1925 – Deane E.Walker
1925-1929 – J. L. Tombaugh
- Principal –
- (Note: In 1929 the Culver School
- Board turned over Public School
- to jurisdiction of Twp. Trustee)
1929-1954 – Floyd M. Annis
1954-1960 – Raymond M. Ives
1960-1963 – Kenneth Cole. Mr. Cole continued
as principal CHS, until 1966.
- Superintendent of Schools –
- ( NOTE: School District reorganized
- and began operation January, 1966 )
1963-1966 – Frank McLane
1966-1971 – Robert Rust
1971-1977 – A. F. Allen
1977- 1990 -- William Mills
1990s-present -- Brad Schuldt
Historical Listing Famed Lake Boats: Sailing Craft, Steamboats, Diesels, Yesteryear to Present
1852 – “Queen of the Lake” . . . Large Flat Bottomed Skiff, built by Isaac A. Morris.
1874 – “The Anna” . . . . Large Sailboat, built by W. W. Hill.
1876 – “The Nancy Lee” . . . Built by Capt. Ed Morris.
1878 – “The Victor” . . . . First Flat Bottom Sailing Craft, Steamboat
1880 – “The Elephant” . . . 18X20’ Sailing Craft, in cooperation building venture, built by Lake View Club membership.
- “The Welcome” ; in 1885 renamed “The Lake Forest” . . . 14X50’ two-deck, side wheeler steamboat . . . built by Capt. Ed Morris
1883 – “The Aubbeenaubbee” . . . Steamboat, two-decker
- “The Bessie” . . .
1884 – “The Lloyd McSheeny” . . . Steamboat; Owner, Capt. Oliver Knapp
1886 – “The Peerless” . . . Steamboat; Capacity: 100 passengers; builder, Capt. Ed Morris, (Note: 1894 advertisement says: “Steamer Peerless meets 7 trains daily at Vandalia Park and carries passengers to all Hotels.”
1895 – “The Peerless II” . . . Steamboat built by Capt. Ed Morris . . . Sold to M. K. Lord, 1897. Remained in operation till 1915.
1903 – “The Doxie” . . . Steamer, built by Capt. Crook, was launched May, 1903. (Note: Announcement states: “ Accommodations to all cottages and persons to points around Lake Maxinkuckee.”
- “The Neeswaugee” . . . 14X70’ 2-deck Steamboat, Capacity: 200 passengers, built by Capt. Crook. Remained in service till 1915.
(?) - “The Daisy” . . . Steamboat.
1883 – “ The W. R McKeen” . . . Ironclad Steamer.
1905 – “The White Swan” . . . 30X70’ 2-deck excursion ship, builder, Capt. Crook . . . Remained in service till 1907. … Prominent tourist floating dance pavilion.
1938 – “The Red Wing” Formerly on Lake Manitou, the 65-passenger, diesel powered excursion ship purchased, 1938 by Art Simpson. Renamed “The Maxinkuckee”. Later owned by Erv Thessin, Frank Amond, Phil Scruggs, Sold late ‘70’s for use, Lake Wawassee.
1941 – “CSS Fowler” . . . 3-Masted Square Rigger with auxiliary diesel power. Built, CMA boat shop by W. C. Craft. Named for Comdr. O.W. Fowler, director, Culver Naval School. (54X13’ ship carries 1,600 sq. ft. Sail.)
1958 – “CSNS Yarnell” . . . 60X131/2’ diesel powered, destroyer type ship. Built CMA Boat Shop by W. C. Craft. Named for Adm. Harry Yarnell, CNS Director.
ALMANAC: Incidental Events, Civil Happenings In Area’s Development
CONCERNING THE SETTING, -- The immediate area, influenced greatly by the Ice Age is situated near the southwestern corner of the Saginaw Moraine or Maxinkuckee Drift. In addition to Lake Maxinkuckee, there are 16 natural lakes in a 15-mile radius. In addition, the area is marked by pot holes, old lake beds, and by wetlands which were originally quite extensive.
Marsh lands in the immediate area originally included Green’s Marsh, west of Lake Maxinkuckee; Hawk’s Marsh, southwest of Culver; Lake Manitau and HoughtonLake areas, north and east of Culver; ti identify a few. Also several brooks, creeks, when dammed served in pioneer days as a source of power for grist mills and sawmills. Prominent among the power producing streams was the outlet to Lake Maxinkuckee, the stream near Bigley’s Maxinkuckee Orchard, Wolf Creek, and the outlet to Twin Lakes (Sligo).
Originally, drift soil, some reputed to be 200-ft. deep, varied from light sandy to heavy muck. There were many pockets of malleable clay (near Rutland, Hibbard), marl, and pockets of bog iron.
Three rivers, the Tippecanoe, Yellow, and Kankakee rivers bisect the area. In pioneer days they served as arterial routes for the Redman and White hunters, trappers, and fishermen. For the most part the area was heavily forested with oak, maple, hickory, walnut, tamarack, and other trees and shrub growth. To the west (Pulaski County) were the famed prairies, ---the Fox-Grape, the Grand, Oliver’s, Pearson’s, Dry and North Western Prairies. Some were wetland, suitable for grazing, the dry prairies were mostly black loam and occasionally marl. It is believed that fingers of two of the prairies reached into Marshall County, (West of Burr Oak).
THE ICE AGE, --- Topographically the melting of glaciers not only created lakes, streams, marshes, moraines, and kettle holes, but ridges were left separating drainage basins, boulders, and to the south, heavy limestone formations.
MOUND BUILDERS, ---Though little is known of the once-upon-a-time Mound Builder residents, there is recorded historical evidence of three large mounds. McDonald’s and other studies show that one mound was found on the Lake farm, southeast of Burr Oak, and two others near Lake Maxinkuckee. It is believed that Mound Builders, as did the Indians later, built their homes on high ground.
THE INDIANS, ---Among the earliest Indian inhabitants of the area (Northern Indiana) were the Miamis, who claimed North Central Indiana. There are indications that a bit to the south the Shawnees and Delaware tribes infringed upon the Miami claimed area. To the Northeast the Fox Indians were competitors. Later the Fox Indians with approval of the Miamis claimed the local area as their hunting and fishing domain. Still later roving Potawatomie Indians encroached upon the area causing disputes.
THE POTAWATOMIES, --- were a tribe of the Algonquin race. With the Ottawas, the Potawatomies were related to the Onippewas, ---the Ojibway of Longfellow’s “Hiawatha”. Known as “Fire (Council)Builders”, original home of the Potawatomies was the Great Lakes region of Northern Michigan. Driven west by the Iroquois they eventually occupied the Michigan Peninsula and the Green Bay area in Eastern Wisconsin. The Potawatomies were a two division tribal group, ---those who moved south from the Wisconsin forests into the prairie regions of Illinois and Indiana became known as the Prairie Potawatomies. Those who remained in Wisconsin’s forests were known as the Potawatomies of the Woods.
In the early 1800’s an estimated 2,000 or more Potawatomies occupied areas north of the Wabash River. In the immediate area there were several villages, all trail linked, -- Chief Neeswaugee’s village just north of the east-west Maxinkuckee Road; Quashqua’s, south of the Maxinkuckee Road; Menominee, Twin Lakes; Benack, southeast Marshall County; a village just north west of Culver; three villages along the Kankakee River; Aubbeenaubbee, south of Lake Maxinkuckee; a village near Kewanna; Chief Winimack, along the Tippecanoe near Winamac; and two near Rochester.
TREATIES, --The Miamis, Delaware, Potawatomie, Fox, and other tribes made many treaties with the U.S. Government. More than 40 such treaties are recorded. Some have to do with individuals and small possessions, others record the cessions of great areas. Still others in the late 1820’s and 1830’s involved the ceding of reservation parcels to the government.
FUR TRADERS – French, English, and American hunters, trappers, and traders were involved throughout the 16th and 17th century in a growing and lucrative fur trade enterprise. At first, an individual operation, it involved establishment of trading posts.
REFERENCE – For added general information the proceeding “Historical, --Time line Profile, A Glimpse Of Our Yesterday’s In Our Hoosierland Community-Area”, presents background for this study. For detailed information the presentation includes a “Time Line” empirical-topical approach, including, Glimpse of Area Religious Activities; Chronology Showing Development of Transportation, Highways to Byways; Listing of Famed Lake Boats; Education Development Over the Years; Directory of Famed Hotels, Clubs; Data, Lake Maxinkuckee; Health-Sanitation including Indian, Pioneer Pharmacopia; A Glimpse of Athletics through the Years; A Glimpse of Weather, Natural Phenomena; Industry- Vocational Pursuits; Clubs-Organizations; Festivities, Recreation, Entertainment; Cemeteries; and Communities, Newspaper, TV, Wireless, Radio.
“Time Line” Trail Showing Happenings, Area Development
Early 1600’s – Miami Indians among early inhabitants, Northern Indiana. Late 1600’s Miamis boasted war footing of 1500 braves.
1640 – Jesuit missionaries plan creation of Christian nation among area Indians
1669 – LaSalle visits Indian villages in his exploration, upper Midwest.
1670-1838 – Potawatomi Indians culminated their southward trek from Lake Superior-Green Bay area. Occupied widely inscribed area extending from Northern Illinois into Southern Michigan.
1680’s – LaSalle, French explorer, discovers St. Joseph-Kankakee River Portage which made possible continued exploration of Mid-West giving France claim to and control of Louisiana Territory, 1682-1763.
Early 1700’s – France discouraged settlements because all commerce rights was granted by King to courtiers and fur companies.
1720’s – English traders, explorers, colonists, began crowding into area west of Allegheny Mountains.
1732 – France authorizes establishment of colonies, Northwest Territory.
1763 – Peace of Paris, marking end of French & Indian War, France relinquished control of Northwest Territory to England.
1765 – George Crogan, England’s Indian Agent, made series of treaties with Indians.
1763-1779 – England controlled area.
1778-1804 – String of American, British, French trading posts established throughout area. American firm was John J. Astor’s.
1774 – England attached area to Quebec thwarting land speculation.
1781 – Mission destroyed. Indians had no contact with Christian missionaries for 40 years.
1787 – Northwest Ordinance provides for organization of 3 to 5 states.
1788 – Congressional Survey established with Congressional Townships providing for defining location.
- Marietta, Ohio, Northwest territorial capitol.
1795 – Treaty of Greenville – Miami Indians recognize Potawatomies right of ownership Northern Indiana. Confirmed in Indian Treaty, 1815.
1797 – Peace established with Indians.
- Previous grants by English and French to land speculators declared null & void by Territorial legislature.
1804 – Indiana becomes Territory, 2nd class.
- Area shipment of furs, -- 18,000 pelts valued at $160,000.
- Villages of Indians in area included Neeswaugee, Quashqua, and Aubbeenaubbee, and five other villages.
1805 – Since nearly all land, Southern Indiana sold to settlers, only land available were the Indian lands, Northern Indiana.
1811 – Tremendous earthquake, centered, New Madrid, Missouri, Dec. 16, 1811, rocked Mid-west.
- Great comet of 1811 causes Indian wonderment.
1814-1833 – Series of treaties ceding land to U.S. Government and establishment of reservations
1816 – Indiana admitted to Union as 19th state.
- Settlers came to Indiana by boat or overland on buffalo traces or Indian trails.
- Year without summer,-- snow, sleet, 17 days, May June; frost , July; ice, August; Temperature hit 116, July frost in two weeks.
- In Northern Indiana trace-travel routes included: Portage Trace (Fort Wayne): Westward Trace, east-west to Lake Michigan: Kankakee Trace, St. Joe River – South: Yellow River Route; Tippecanoe River Trace, north to St. Joe River; and seasonal traces through the prairies, the Grand, Fox-Grape, Drye, North Western, Olivers and Pearson Prairies. Indian trails threaded marshlands.
1817 – U.S. Government carries land survey, Midwest.
1819 – U.S. offers land $2.00 per acre, with one-fourth down with purchase, balance 3 equal installments.
1820 – Rev. Isaac McCoy upon request of Chief Menominee visits Twin Lakes Potawatomi Village. Carey Mission near Niles, opened January 24, 1823.
1825 – Governor James B. Ray, 1st of 4 Whig Governors (Noah Noble, 1831-37; David Wallace, 1837-40; Samuel Bigger, 1840-43) takes office. Gov. Ray sought ambitious program, internal improvement including: opening lands for settlement, chartering railroads, canal building, road building by public bond issue.
- President named as commissioners to negotiate treaties with the Miami and Potawatomies Gov. Ray and Generals Carr and Tipton.
- October 26, Erie Canal began operation. In payment for construction of Erie Canal, U.S. government gave land, Northwest Territory, among grants was land in Marshall County.
- In 1825 Indiana had 52 counties as treaties with Indians opened lands north of Wabash River.
1826 – October 16, Paradise Springs near Wabash, Potawatomies-Miamis cede strip of land, across Northern Indiana-Southern Michigan to U.S. in return for a $2,000 per year annuity. Also ceded was a 100-ft. right-of-way, plus contiguous section of land for building Michigan Road, Ohio River to Lake Michigan. Commissioners were Gov. Ray, L. Cass, John Tipton. Treaty approved by congress 1827.
1827-30 – Rev. Stephen Badin builds chapel, establishing Twin Lakes Mission. Badin succeeded by Father DeSeille, 1832-37;Father Benjamin Marie Pettit, 1837.
1828 – H.H. Scott becomes resident, Lake Maxinkuckee.
1830 – Michigan Road surveyed and laid out. In 1834 cleared, after a fashion, from Logansport to Lake Michigan.
1834-37 – In series of 16 treaties, Indians cede back to U.S. all reservation lands originally granted in 1832.
1835 – Heads of families come to Marshall County- Plymouth, Sligo, Lake Maxinkuckee, Wolf Creek, to enter lands.
1836 – April 1, Counties organized,-- Marshall, Fulton; June 1 Kosciuscko; Pulaski, May 6, 1840; Starke, January 15, 1850.
- Population: Marshall County, 600 white, 1500 Indians; Fulton County, 1,800; Starke County, 149 (NOTE: Starke County was attached at first to Marshall County)
- Marshall County organized with 3 civil townships, Center, Green, and North (NOTE: Union Township was attached to Green Township
- July 26 – Area settlement began as settlers arrived by ox drawn wagons in Lake Maxinkuckee area, Wolf Creek, Twin Lakes, “Prairie” later named Cross Lanes and later Rutland; Poplar Grove, Plymouth, Leiters Ford, Buena Vista (Monterey).High ground trails led to settlements.
- Wolf Creek known as upper settlement, Maxinkuckee “Fizzletown” as lower settlement.
- Maxinkuckee, 1st village platted, 2 streets, Lake Street,--North-South; Washington Street,--East-West.
- Many settlers were “New Light”Christians, 1st Christian Church between Maxinkuckee and Wolf Creek.
- 1st Grist Mill, outlet, Twin Lakes.
- 1st practicing physician, Dr. Thomas Lowe, Wolf Creek.
- 1st school held, T. McDonald, teacher.
1837 – July 1,--1st emigration of Potawatomi tribes, Lake Maxinkuckee area, Kewanna to Western Osage River Reservation, Kansas.
1838 – Pioneer Eleazer Thompson, builds cabin, becomes 1st Lake Maxinkuckee cottager.
- Thomas McDonald, 1st Justice of Peace
- September 4, Potawatomies, Twin Lakes area, begin forced march to Western Reserve.
1839 – Winamac settled (NOTE: the Pulaski County seat became center for U.S. Government Land Office for Northwest Indiana)
1840’s – Fine quality bog iron found near Twin Lakes and other area wetlands. Charles Crocker, French Fisher built smelting forge, Sligo. Forge burned, 1848.Rebuilt by Crocker, 1849.Crocker later became Railroad magnate. Western U.S.
1840 – March 1, 17 residents present petition requesting establishment of Union Township, as 5th civil township in Marshall County. From 1836-40, area had been attached to Green Township. Name probably selected to perpetuate name of Union County, Indiana, former home of many petitioners. New township was 6 sections (6 mi.) wide, east-west; and 7 sections (7mi) long, north-south Much of area heavily timbered, many sections inaccessible because of marshland and lakes carving out many acres.
1840 – Brick-Tile making started near Cross Lanes (Rutland) . . . William Hunter, early Aubbeenaubbee resident, purchased land, south bank, Tippecanoe River. Leveled banks to provide fording place.
1841 – Campbell School, 1st school, Tippecanoe Township, Pulaski County established. Population Marshall County, 1,651.
1842 – Transport, grain from area to Logansport took 2 weeks travel time.
1844 – Bayliss L. Dickson, who owned farm bordering Northwest side of Lake Maxinkuckee, officially filed, on June 8, a 26-acre plat for a village, --Union Town. Platted and named by Dickson for Union County. Out of Northwest corner, Section 16, Township 32, Range 1 East. Dickson’s log cabin only dwelling on town plat which roughly extends today (Culver) from Mill Street, south to a bit north of Lake Shore Drive; from Lakeview-Plymouth Streets, east to Slate Street, west. (NOTE: Early county maps show village of Geneva, Northwest of Lake Maxinkuckee . . . Established U.S.Post Office near Rutland. . . . Rector House, 1st 2-story log house, built, Maxinkuckee Hill.
1846 – Manufacture of bricks-tiles thriving industry near Cross Lanes (Rutland), Hibbard and near Rochester.
1847 – Brilliant Comet trails cause apprehension
1848 – In State Referendum on Free Schools, Union Township vote was 38 for, 21 against.
- Lands surveyed in Indiana show 21,359,707 acres. Lands sold 15,477,628 acres; reserved for common schools, 631,803 acres; swamp lands, 981,682 acres; Indian reserves, 126,220 acres; unsold land, 3,271,780 acres.
- Report shows taxable land Marshall County, 181,154 acres; unsold, 70,000 acres. Taxable land, Fulton County, 126,106; Pulaski County, 4184 acres.
1849 – Population, Union Township, 280; Marshall County, (estimated) 5,000; Starke County, 450
- Buena Vista, village along Tippecanoe River, Pulaski County, platted and renamed Monterey.
1850 – June 12, Knox, Starke County, platted.
- 1st settlement, North Bend Township, Starke County . . . Build some plank roads.
1851 – Indiana adopts new State Constitution.
- Union Town resurveyed and transferred by Bayliss Dickson to his brother-in-law, Thomas K. Houghton, Upon request of Dr. G.A. Durr name of town changed from Union Town to Marmont, in honor of famed French General. Surveyed town became Houghton original plat.
- Eight streets in Marmont, -- Jefferson, Madison, Cass, Scott, Plymouth, Lake, Washington, Main. Plymouth Pilot, 1st newspaper
- June 8, Argos (Sidney-Fremont) plotted.
- Marshall County had 45,280 acres swampland.
1853 – James Boyce, established water-powered sawmill along dammed up Maxinkuckee outlet, south of lake.
- May 19, Commissioner of Indian Affairs report shows that between 1833 and 1851 4,792 Potawatomies, Miamis and other Indian tribes had emigrated to Western Reserves. Report did not include group of 500 removed in 1836; 842 in 1837; or 700-800 in 1847.
1856 – November 10, 1st of many rail lines, Fort Wayne-Chicago (Pennsy) Railroad reaches Plymouth.
1857 – Thomas K. Houghton, who in 1851 had become owner of Marmont town site, filed certificate attached to what was said to be amended plat (Union Town) Marmont.
1858 – Maxinkuckee Post Office established, (discontinued, 1902)
1859 – Walnut Township organized, Sidney-Fremont, consolidated and renamed Argos.
1860 – Presidential election, Abraham Lincoln carried Marshall County by 153 votes. S. Douglas carried Pulaski County by 144 votes.
- Eli Parker opens store in Maxinkuckee. J. Green buys land between lakes.
1862 – Report shows 86 schools, Marshall County.
1863 – Newly graveled public road East Shore to South Side Lake Maxinkuckee opened. The Lake Road passed through Van Schoiack barnyard where gates had to be opened and closed.
1864 – September, Henry Harrison Culver and Emily J. Hand, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Wm. J. Hand, were married in home of bride, at Wolf Creek, 7 miles Northeast of Culver . . . January, 21 below zero, heavy snow
1864 – In presidential election McClellan carried Marshall County by 383 votes over Abraham Lincoln.
- Families from Germany arrive and establish settlements Mt. Pleasant, South, Lake Maxinkuckee; Zion neighborhood. About this time Scandinavian (Swedish) emigrants settled West Central Marshall County and Eastern Starke County.
1866 – 160-acre farm, south shore of Lake Maxinkuckee, brought record price in sale, -- $2.00 to $5.00 per acre.
1870 – Marmont Pump Factory established, South Main Street.
- Captain Ed Morris established boat building business near Palmer House.
- Establishment, opening of Allegheny House, Maxinkuckee. This was the beginning of Hotel-Wayside Inn era, 1870-1930’s in which there were 23 Inns.
- Drainage of swamplands proceed slow
- Main roads usable in season, Marmont, Maxinkuckee to Wolf Creek; Sandhill road to Zion-Monterey; South road to Leiters Ford-Fulton County; Behmer Road, Plymouth; Maxinkuckee Road to Argos.
1872 – Landmark “Pine Tree House” built by A.T. Benedict, Maxinkuckee. Benedict ran sawmill on dammed creek running through Bigley property, ---also Grist Mill.
- 12 schools, Union Township; 4 of brick construction, 8 frame; 9 women teachers, 2 men.
1873 – Establishment of Lake View Club. This was the beginning of the Poplar Club
Activities, ---some 14-20 organizations including; Highland House, Indiana Club, Logansport, Peru, Rochester, Plymouth Clubs, Lake View Club and others.
1875 – 130 schools, Marshall County
- Drainage projects get underway.
1880’s – Development of Lake Shore summer residences began. Today there are more than 300 homes. Famed cottages and early summer residents included “Fairwinds”, the Winslows: “The Woodbank”, Glossbreners, “House of a Thousand Candles”, Longs; the Vonnegut; N. Perry’s; Marmons; Hales; Griffiths; Perines; Barnes; Wests; Howell’s; Culver-Bell; Setsler; and others.
1882 – Villages of Hibbard, Rutland, Burr Oak platted.
- August 30, 1st passenger train operates on newly completed New York, Chicago, St. Louis (Nickel Plate) Railroad.
1883 – Vandalia Railroad line, -- Logansport-South Bend reaches Culver.
- Henry Harrison Culver spent 1st summer camping on Lake Maxinkuckee’s East Shore, later built cottage. Coming to the Lake, Mr. Culver had been ill. There is some indication he thought climate and spring water helped in regaining health. In the fall he purchased 98-acre Hissong farm. In 1884 he purchased adjoining 208-acre Aubbeenaubbee Bay Farm.
- Beginning of famed Steamboat Era.
1885 – Nathaniel Gandy establishes livery stable.
1889 – July, Culver Park Assembly attracts over 20,000 visitors to Evangelistic sessions
- Lake Erie & W Railroad advertises rail excursion rates of $1.00 Argos to Indianapolis
1891 – H.H. Culver arranges for Marshall County Agriculture Fair on Assembly grounds.
- Vandalia (Town) Lakeside Park established. Maxinkuckee Ice Company employs 25-200 for annual ice harvest.
1894 – September 25, 1st session Culver Military Academy opens, 32 enroll.
- Population, Marmont, 374
- George Nearpass establishes Weekly Newspaper, Marmont Herald.
1895 – February, Original CMA Building destroyed by fire. Plan new building for cadets
- October 4, Name of community changed from Marmont to Culver City.
- Advertisement: “Exchange Bank of Marmont, John Osborn & Company”
- Col. H.B. Holt, Indianapolis, who has 9 Ice Houses, plans to build 12 more. Ice brings high price in Logansport, Indianapolis.
- Nickel Plate Railroad considers building branch rail line Burr Oak to Culver.
- Trappers report excellent season with great numbers of pelts, -- muskrat, mink, otter, fox, Prairie Wolf . . . Porcupine killed west of town.
1896 – October, Missouri Military Academy, Mexico, Missouri, buildings destroyed in fire. Upon invitation, H.H. Culver, M.M.A. joined with CMA . . . Arlington Hotel burned, January 30
- In referendum, citizens approve changing town’s name from Culver to Marmont.
- March 13, 4 couples plus one who rode on hind bob joined for cross country sleigh ride, Culver-Zion.
1897 – September 26th, H.H. Culver passes away.
- 1st school in North Bend Township, Starke County.
1898 – Estimate that nearly 2,000 people live around Lake during Summer season dwelling in cottages, clubs and hotels.
- Sea Beach development along East Shore of Lake, -- 16 building lots available from Maxinkuckee Road, south Price of lots range from $250 to $500.
1899 – 1st graduating class, Culver High School
- 1st annual Maxinkuckee Chautauqua held, 26-acre Assembly Grounds, south side of town. . . . February 9, 22 below zero.
- July 5, U.S Fish Commission begins 11-year biological study-survey, Lake Maxinkuckee under direction of Everman & Clark. Completed in 1917. Findings subsequently published in 2-volume report.
- U.S. Fish Commission report shows 64 species of fish, 9 species of turtles, 100 species of aquatic plants, Lake Maxinkuckee.
1900 – O’Keefe Gravel Pit busy as public roads are improved . . . Yacht Club founded . .
- Marshall County Population 25,119; Culver 505.
- Report shows about 2,000 fishermen fish Lake Maxinkuckee an average of 20 days each year. Estimated catch, 200,000 lbs.
- 1st business building built, downtown, west side of Main Street, between Madison-Jefferson.
1901 – The State Exchange Bank had its origin, August 1st, when S.C. Shilling purchased the Exchange Bank of Culver, one of 240 private banks in Indiana, From M.C.McCormick
- 1st Farmers Institute held, Assembly Grounds
- December 15-21, -12 to -21 below zero
- 1st Rural Free Mail Delivery, Culver Post Office
1902 – CMA’s first Naval Summer School
- RFD., Burr Oak Post Office starts.
1903 – Culver-Union Twp. Volunteer Fire Department organized January 24.
- July 12, 5,000 excursionists visit Lake Maxinkuckee
- J.H. Koontz, publisher, changes name of Culver City Herald to Citizen.
- Improved gravel base road encircles Lake Maxinkuckee.
- 6th annual Chautauqua Season attracts crowds, excursionists from Terre Haute, Crawfordsville, Franklin, Elwood, Logansport
1904 – May 26, Poor’s Tonsorial Parlor installs 2 incandescent lamps . . . July, Bands of horse thieves operating in area.
1905 – Because of accidents with advent of “gasbuggies” (1901-02) Town Trustees set speed limits, -- 8 mph, business district; 15, residential areas; 20 rural areas.
- Hayes & Son, Livery, offers “buggies at your own price.”
- A.B. Holt purchases Culver Citizen from J.H.Koontz.
- Weather wise, ice left the lake, March 26.Earlier on February 20, it was reported that the 24-inch thick ice was best ever harvested.
- Assembly Tabernacle destroyed in fire. With foreclosure on mortgage Assembly Grounds closes, December.
1906 – Outlet to Lake Maxinkuckee dammed to control lake level.
- Dedicate new Culver Elementary School Building on School Street
- Town Board decides against cisterns in favor of new central waterworks.
- It takes 15 minutes to wind town clock which has a 1400-lb. weight lift without gears.
- Icehouse near south town limits burns.
- For more than 30 years the appeal of area lured many well known Hoosiers and, including those who became great in the 1910-1970 Era. Among them were George Ade, James Whitcomb Riley, General Lew Wallace, who it is said, wrote part of his famed “Ben Hur” on one of his many sojourns to Maxinkuckee’s Allegheny House; Meredith Nicholson, who wrote, at least in part, his best seller, “House of a Thousand Candles” while on vacation at the East Shore home of Preston Wolfe; and Cole Porter, composer, lyricist, who spent many summer days at the Shirks, Helms, Edwards, and Hendricks cottages. At Maxinkuckee, Cole Porter often played the piano on Captain Crook’s steamer, “The Peerless”.
- December 24, Excellent skating on ice covered lake.
1907 – CMA establishes Culver Summer Calvary Camp
- New Culver Hotel Built.
- October 12, Lake nearly covered with ice
1909 – Ice Harvest began December 27th.
1910 – October 20, Central Union Telephone Company completes new trunk line cable to CMA and to Maxinkuckee Exchange. Phone company reports it serves 300 lines.
- Petition town to install 3 downtown gasoline street lights.
- Harry Saine using generator in his store is first in area to light home with electricity.
- January 10, Medbourn Ice Storage filled to capacity with 500 rail car loads of ice.200 carloads already shipped to Logansport and Terre Haute.
- May, Walter Vonnegut purchases 160-acre Marks Farm, East side. In cooperation with Purdue University, he announced plans to become an orchard grower.
- CMA announces appointment of General L.R. Gignilliat as superintendent succeeding the late Col. A.F. Fleet.
1911 – Town to pave section of Main Street with Poster Brick, $4.60 per lineal ft.
- April 17, CMA dedicates new Mess Hall.
- After two years prohibition, Union Township goes “wet” with 25-vote majority.
- Town grants Harry Saine 50-year franchise for community electric lighting. County extends franchise to Saine for electricity to Lake cottages.
- Water Company serves 137 outlets.
- Culver population, 811
- July 2nd temperature hits 107
- Ralston Hotel destroyed by fire.
1912 – Culver Summer Woodcraft opens for first session with Dan Beard as director.
1913 – March 13, Rains came Good Friday started historic 1913 flood in which CMA joined in Logansport rescue efforts.
- New North Bend Township, Starke County, High School opens
1914 – Culver plans new Main Street Business District
- May 28, Report shows 37 street lights, residential area, 4, business district.
- December 3, Announce plans for new Carnegie Public Library
1915 – Culver has 11/8 miles brick paved streets
- Passenger train schedule shows 6 trains daily, 4 on Sunday with stops at Arlington, Culver Station, CMA, and Hibbard.
- Citizens Military Training Camp at CMA
1916 – October 22, CMA Riding Hall with 66 horses destroyed in fire. Plans for new Riding Hall, 104 X 212 ft. building to house 136 mounts announced.
1917 – Exchange Bank of Culver, a private bank becomes State Exchange Bank under new State Charter. Winter of ’17-’18 brought heavy snows.
1919 – June 9, Work starts, new road extension from Bunker Hill ( Lake Shore Drive) 5,500-ft. to north of CMA stables.
- W.Winslow, 1st local person to buy plane
- Report shows 146 cottages on 196 Lake Lots
1920 – State Highway Commission announces plans for new East-West State Road #50 (State Road #10), Warsaw to Demotte.
- New Burr Oak Cheese Factory
- December 28, 14 below zero
- New 3-story high school building dedicated.
- 7 bandits stage hold-up-robbery, The State Exchange Bank, December 29. Robbery attracted nationwide attention. Apprehended, robbers defended by famed attorney, Clarence Darrow, Sentenced in 1921.
1921 – Wireless receiver set hears Pittsburgh KDKA Radio broadcasts.
1922 – Electric power, Leiters Ford
- Newly graveled State Road opened from Culver to Bass Lake, May 24.
1923 – March 23, Behmer Road, Culver-Plymouth to be hard surfaced.
- M.R. Robinson, F.C. Leitnaker purchase Culver Citizen from A.B. Holt.
- Langford & Moreau design CMA Golf Course
1924 – Dr. Adolf Marcuse, German scientist, is urging search for energy substitutes, says there will be shortage within the century . . . Ice harvest begins, December 24
- Dedicate new CMA Recreational Building, April 21
1925 – Motor powered school busses replacing horse drawn hacks.
- October, Delong to have electric service.
1926 – Radio Station WCMA on Air, Discontinued in 1932.
1929 – Dedicate Community Building, Culver 39-Plymouth 28
1930 – State Exchange Bank opens Argos Bank Office.
1931 – CMA Bird Sanctuary project underway.
- Culver High School basketball team ends season with 24-0 record. Defeated by South Bend Central, State Semi-Finals.
1932 – Culver family heirs transfers CMA assets to Culver Educational Foundation.
- Maintenance of Vandalia Park is turned over to town by Railroad.
- August, CMA host for 4th year USLTA National Boys & JRS. Tennis Tourney, 140 compete. Tourney held here 1928-42.
- Regular 1st Class mail postage, 2 cents; Airmail, 5 cents. Union Township gave Hoover 150 vote majority.
- January 12, Plymouth-Logansport Highway route through Culver becomes State Road 17.
1933 – May 29, Bandits stage holdup-robbery of State Exchange Bank. Robbers captured west of town.
- Many banks closed by financial depression. Following national bank moratorium, State Exchange Bank was only Marshall County bank to reopen without restrictions, March, 1933.
- In 18th amendment referendum Union Township gave “Drys” a 7-vote majority.
1935 – Town purchases Vandalia Park from Pennsylvania Railroad for $6,500.
1936 – March, Harsh winter causes 126 instances of frozen water lines.
- Dedicate new Monterey School building.
1940 – State to incorporate 10-mile extension of Marshall-Fulton Line Road, U.S. 31 to State Road 17, into Highway system (State Road 110)
- April 1, Ice breaks up on Lake.
1941 – Town seeks bids on new Beach Lodge.
- State Board of Health approves plans for WPA town Sewage Disposal System. (NOTE: delayed, canceled because of WW II)
1942 – Wartime rationing begins February 20. Regulations cover cars, tires, gas, fuel, sugar, shoes, etc . . . Culver Civil Defense conducts Air Raid blackout drill, June 28.
1943 – Naval School Band conducts 1st annual Moonlight Serenade.
- State Exchange Finance Company purchases Farmers State Bank, Lapaz.
- 1st Annual Community United Fund Drive.
1945 – Aubbeenaubbee High School destroyed by fire
- 1st Annual Lions Club Outboard Regatta
1947 – Inaugurate Ciler-Plymouth Bus Service.
- November 27, Last passenger train trip through Culver.
1949 – June 10, 1st Annual Leiters Ford Strawberry Festival
- July 11, new bridge, north of Burr Oak, opens.
- Propose uniform refuse disposal system.
1950 – Propose local zoning ordinance.
- June 7, Maxinkuckee Playhouse opens 1st season presenting “Blithe Spirit”
1951 – January 15, Culver High School Basketball squad wins 8th County Championship in 16-year span. Finalist in 11 of 16 years.
- September 17, Bank directors name W.O. Osborn (cashier since 1907) president, succeeding late S.C. Shilling
- October, dedicate CMA Memorial Chapel.
- Dedicate Aubbeenaubbee School.
1952 – January, New Town Sewage Plant in operation
- Chicago firm announces plans for Kings Lake development, March 25th. Report shows 21,500 cement blocks used to build 170 manholes, and 204 miles of tile used in construction of sewage system.
- State takes title & control, 700-ft. West Shore public access to lake
1957 – CMA’s Gignilliat Quadrangle dedicated
1958 – Co-eds admitted to CMA admitted to CMA and in the 1960’s CEF initiate plans for establishment of Culver Academy for Girls.
1959 – State Assembly enacts School Reorganization law providing for consolidation
1962 – December, Culver Community School District formed. District included Culver, Union Township, Aubbeenaubbee Township, of Fulton County, and North Bend Township,of Starke County.
1966 – McGill Manufacturing company begins production of precision bearings in new Culver plant on State Road 17. Plant size doubled in 1973. Employed 300
- State Exchange Bank opens newly chartered bank in Plymouth.
- January-February, Extremely cold weather, heavy snows close roads.
1967 – Tippecanoe Township, of Pulaski County, annexed to Culver Community School Corporation.
1969 – April 27, Dedicated new 124,500-ft. high school.
1971 – Establish Culver Academy for Girls.
1973 – Severe shortage of gas and fuels.
- Survey shows 1558 dwellings, Union Township, 812, Culver, 348, rural.
1979 – New Shirt Shed Manufacturing Plant begins operation.
Assorted Articles, 1930-1980
A random assortment of articles digitized for other purposes but included here for posterity... (Special thanks to Kelly Masson for making these articles available).
Feb. 19, 1930
NEW GYMNASIUM STAGE FITTED WITH
SCENERY IS BEST IN COUNTY