Return to CUTPL Home Page
The Culver-Union Township Public Library makes no representation regarding the accuracy of the information contained within these pages.
The Lake View Hotel
Mark A. Roeder's section on the Lake View is here (scroll to bottom of the page).
Fascinating photo from the Marshall County Historical Museum, of Daniel McDonald's Lakeview Club House. McDonald, author of perhaps the most thorough glimpse of Marshall County history available ("A History of Marshall County," full-text here), started the club in 1878 along with 14 other Plymouth residents, on a bluff in what is today the Indian Trails. McDonald and friends lobbied for the Vandalia Railroad to run through Culver (the Marmont, not not a part of their original plans) and behind their club-house, which it did, a move which changed Culver to a tourist town and changed the history of the town forever.
The Lakeview club eventually became the Lake View Hotel, after it was sold to the Railroad in 1890.
The photo above, taken in the summer of 1880, is identified in more detail in the lower image.
Unusual depiction of the Lake View Hotel, which -- interestingly enough -- sat in the middle of what is today known as the Indian Trails, on one of the highest bluffs on the Lake. By 1922, the Lake View was merged with the Jungle (see above), but in 1929 burned down.
Another 1908 view of the Lake View Hotel.
Another version of the above postcard.
One more image of the Lake View Hotel graces this 1906 postcard.
The above photo, taken July 10, 1885, shows the campgrounds of the Lake View Club (see previous photo) extending behind the club going north towards what is today Academy Rd. The photo at left shows the club house overlooking Lake Maxinkuckee on the higher point of today's Indian Trail bluffs (portions of the basement of the building can still be seen north of the main Indian Trail).
This view is from the west looking towards the hotel, an unusual perspective showing the winding trail leading to the hotel's boat pier (that trail's imprint can still be seen winding down the bluff from the Indian Trails today).
buildings from catching fire, however, but saved all of them. Later in the night they were called out again when the watchman left at the scene of the fire reported the old icehouse ablaze. The firemen extinguished the blaze and left, but a short time later another blaze was discovered and this time the structure burned entirely to the ground. The old hotel had been purchased by B. B. Culver and B. R. Culver some time ago. They contemplated wrecking the place and building a new modern hotel in its place. Damage was not estimated. The Rochester News-Sentinel, Monday, November 18, 1929
One of several 1910 postcards captioned, "Along the Shore of Lake Maxinkuckee, Culver, Indiana." This one shows the Lake View Hotel east of Vandalia Park.
Fascinating and rare photo from the pre-1920s, taken alongside the shore where today's town park is in Culver. The sign at left says "Boats for Rent" and almost certainly depicts Captain Morris' boat house pier on the east end of Vandalia Park, close to where the Beach Lodge rests today. In the background on the ridge can be seen the Lake View Hotel, at the site of today's Indian Trails woods between the town park and Culver Academy.
Fascinating artifact provided to the library by Jon Schmidt. This lease is for the Lakeview Hotel including cottages 1-6, for $125 per year, from 1911 to 1913. At the time, that land was owned by the Vandalia Railroad and was being leased to what appears to be "Walter and Shorb" (presumably to manage the hotel). This item gives some interesting detail to the history of one of Culver's first hotels, and one which helped usher in the railroad and the era of Culver as a tourist area. The hotel, of course, was located on the bluff between Vandalia Park and the Culver Academy, the site of today's Indian Trails.
This fascinating artifact provided to the library by Jon Schmidt is an inventory of the articles in the Lake View Hotel and its adjoining cottages, numbers 1-6, taken Nov. 20, 1911. This presumably related to the 1911-1913 leasing of the hotel to Walter and Shorb by the Vandalia Railroad, who owned the property